Free Initial Consultation
888-532-0973

Underinsured motorist coverage

If you live in Washington State, you will know that the state requires you to have automobile insurance for any vehicle that you own. When you are looking for insurance coverage, you will learn that the state mandates minimum levels for the different types of insurance coverages. Some drivers opt to only purchase the minimum coverage levels and this can put you in a precarious position if you are hit by one of these drivers.

As explained by The Zebra, a site that provides automobile insurance quote comparisons, a person carrying the least amount of insurance possible might end up being underinsured quite easily. When a driver is underinsured, the amount of damages associated with an accident exceed the amount of insurance they carry. For example, if your vehicle is hit by another driver and the costs to repair your car add up to $20,000 but the at-fault driver is only insured up to $10,000, that driver is said to be underinsured.

This situation is why it is wise to carry underinsured motorist coverage along with your uninsured motorist coverage. It is estimated that 16% of all drivers in Washington State are uninsured and countless others carry only the minimum amount of coverage required by law. 

If you would like to learn more about how to protect yourself and to get help if you have or someone in your family has been hit by a driver who is underinsured, please feel free to visit the accident compensation and assistance page of our Washington State personal injury website.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information